Afternoon Tea Lookbook


When I saw this gorgeous 1940s inspired dress on ASOS (here) I couldn’t help but imagine myself sat in a vintage tea room sipping on tea and nibbling on scones whilst overlooking a gorgeous view. If there was ever a dress to whisk me away and into another life, it was this one. When picturing old fashioned, beautiful places naturally I turned straight to Birmingham’s Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses for a plethora of tropical gardens and a beautiful glass tearoom. Shockingly, I’d never actually visited here before but when I found it online I knew I just had to go.


I’ve honestly fallen in love with this dress, every detail is just so beautiful. The lace sleeves add a delicate touch to the piece and I love how it covers not just the shoulders but the top of the back as well. The gathered front creates a very 1940s/1950s vibe which accentuates cleavage in a classy, sophisticated way and also draws in the waist.

The midi length isn’t a length I’d usually go for but for this dress I think it just adds to the elegance of it. This dress is very slimming and the midi length elongates the leg; which is great for us petite girls! The white and floral design is so feminine and pretty whilst adding a pop of colour, which definitely ties in to the flowers all around me.

There isn’t just flowers here, there’s lots of birds too. This beautiful little peacock clearly wanted to feature on my blog!


I paired the dress with these white and mint green block heels which I actually borrowed off my sister. Unfortunately, these are quite old so I’m unable to link to them, however white block heels (such as these) would work just as well. These are a great height for walking around in all day as they’re comfortable and supportive for your ankles, perfect for a day out.

Birmingham’s Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses is a gorgeous getaway from the hustle and bustle of the busy city of Birmingham. With large greenhouses full of tropical plants and so much space filled up with nature it is a lovely place to visit, not only for taking photos, but for appreciating how beautiful nature is. It is like stepping back in time to Britain in the 40s with jazz music playing from a band stand, people having picnics and a quant little tearoom.

I’d definitively recommend visiting Birmingham’s Botanical Gardens, you can book tickets here.

Love Chloe x

4 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea Lookbook

Leave a comment